IB Middle Years Programme

The IB Learner

What is the Middle Years Programme?
It is a programme of international education designed to help students develop the knowledge, understanding, attitudes and skills necessary to participate actively and responsibly in a changing world.

The International Baccalaureate® Middle Years Programme (MYP) is designed for students aged 11 to 16.

This period, encompassing early puberty and mid-adolescence, is a particularly critical phase of personal and intellectual development and requires a programme that helps students participate actively and responsibly in a changing and increasingly interrelated world. Learning how to learn and how to evaluate information critically is as important as learning facts.

Curriculum documents are published in English, French, Spanish and Chinese but schools may offer the programme in other languages.
What does the curriculum contain?
The curriculum contains eight subject groups together with a core made up of five areas of interaction.

This is illustrated by means of an octagon with the five areas of interaction at its centre.

Students study subjects from each of the eight subject groups through the five areas of interaction: approaches to learning, community and service, human ingenuity, environment, and health and social education.

LiveZilla Live Chat Software